Constant Lovers


Website | Facebook


You lean your drunk head, watery-eyed and open-jawed, towards hands that clutch the disgusting, dripping dog; it’s slick with fried onions and the mustard is already running down the inside of your thumb. You already know that sharp smell on your wrist and stain on your cuff will haunt you tomorrow but you don’t care. You need it. You shut your eyes tight, the spins are close, the food will help. Suddenly the sausage darts and recoils, alive with anger it hisses with its black tongue and spits, “I’m on fire” and it’s right, and you scream, “What freaky magic is this?” mesmerized as the cobra squirms and burns. The snake strikes its own flaming tail and and bites and swallows and swallows and swallows and swallows and the fire consumes the snake as the snake consumes itself and as the bizarre and unreal become epic and mythical you puke in the street and it’s all tequila, mustard and meat.

In the year 2013 Constant Lovers found themselves searching for the true heart of that mysterious, flaming Ouroboros and March of 2014 we see the fruits of their efforts in their Good to Die Records release titled “Experience Feelings”. After original drummer Mike Horgan moved to Chicago, CL enlisted Ben Verellen of Helms Alee, Harkonen and Verellen Amplifiers fame to sit in as the new drumhead/cymbal brutalizer and in July 2013 the new line up with Eric Fisher {Damien Jurado, Mongrel Blood}, Gavin Tull-Esterbrook {Suffering and the Hideous Thieves}, Joel Cuplin {Triumph of Lethargy Skinned Alive to Death, S&tHT} and Verellen, stepped into the Red Room with legendary engineer/ producer Matt Bayles {Botch, Blood Brothers, Mastodon, Minus the Bear, Etc.}
The result is a rollicking blistering thirty three minutes of grunge riffs and loud disjointed leads battling fever rage hollers about private parts and cookies and wheelies that are glued together by pulsing drums and bass. Constant Lovers new LP is a drunken, squealing, pounding homage to Nirvana, Swans, Pissed Jeans and Grinderman, and is a soundtrack for experiencing the feeling of feelings that are sometimes weird, like when your street meat turns out to be a fucking talking king cobra on fire.

Joel Cuplin – Vocals, Guitar, Percussion
Eric Fisher – Guitar, Percussion
Ben Verellen – Drums, Percussion
Gavin Tull-Esterbrook -Bass, Percussion



Comments are closed.